A Royal Treat for a Simple Girl

BY SUSANA LOURENÇO . PORTUGAL . EUROPE

Green Queen Claudia Plums

Green Queen Claudia Plums.

The fruit of my childhood summer vacations. The one I longed to reach with my tiny arms, pluck and store on the empty belly of my straw hat.

It was always a steaming hot day. 40ºC probably. Dry and only bearable inside the darkness that silently cooled down the house. Despite that, I really wished to walk along the path that connected our home to this long necked tree resembling a giraffe, with a small treetop that slightly could hold the weight of its own precious cargo.

I would look up trying to read, among the lacy foliage and the sunbeams that pierced through, the round cherry size fruits that could be ripe. I would point them out to my mum and to the other tall persons of my family so they could pick them for me.

In a few minutes, I would hold in the palms of my hands this mild glaucous soft skin that encapsulated a very sweet fleshy pulp. I rushed till the closest water tap to wash them from the fine dust that kissed their cheeks and then delighted myself gulping down all its juicy sugariness.

Only years later, I discovered that this honeyed fruit that made me so happy in the backyard of our country modest home, was in fact named after a royal XVI century figure, Queen Claude of France, to whom a Renaissance naturalist dedicated this newcomer from the Orient, since it was good, sweet and delicate just like the wife of the French King Francis I.

One thought on “A Royal Treat for a Simple Girl

Leave a Reply

