A wintery morning

BY ANDRÉ RODRIGUES DA SILVA . PORTUGAL . EUROPE

coffee_barley

Looking out the window there’s no trace of the sun. Dark clouds are hoovering above. I’m in need for some warmth… The answer lays in the kitchen. I grab some arabica coffee beans and a handful of toasted barley, mix and grind them, fill a coffee pot with water and boil it. When it starts to swirl I pour in some tablespoons of the mixture and inhale the scents as they start to evade the pot. I turn off the heat and leave it to rest for five minutes. Then I grab a mug and fill it up and search the pantry for some cookies. Now I’m ready to enjoy this wintery day.

Leave a Reply

